Parish Church of:
The church of St Rumon, situated in a picturesque valley and founded in 1315, is a building of stone with granite facings in the Gothic style, consisting of chancel, nave of six bays, north aisle, south transepts, south porch and an embattled western tower of two stages, with pinnacles containing 2 bells, dated 1756-1788: the chancel retains a sedile, credence and piscina, and the roof, pulpit and communion table are all of fine old carved oak; in the transept is a hagioscope; under the floor which faces the altar are interred the remains of the Rev. John Whitaker B.D. author of “The Ancient Cathedral of Cornwall.” and rector of this parish from 1778 till his death, October 30, 1808; and of Jane, his widow, d. 1828; a similar stone is inscribed to Jane Margaret Whitaker, daughter of the Rev. John Whitaker, d. 1798; in the wall of the south aisle is a stone coffin lid of the 13th century, bearing the demi-effigy of an ecclesiastic; placed above it is a brass
coffin plate discovered at the time of the restoration, and inscribed to Richard Tristrean, born August 13, 1579, and buried September 5, 1664; there is also a brass with an inscription and a marble monument to John Luke esq. of Treviles, ob. 1776 and Elizabeth (Morshead), his wife, ob. 1778; in the south transept is a stone effigy of St. Rumon, to whom the church was dedicated, October 17, 1321; and there are many modern monuments: the church was fully restored in 1866, and has 250 sittings. The register dates from the year 1685.
- Where is Ruan Lanihorne ? -