Parish Church of:
The church of St. Winnow is an ancient building of stone and granite, in the Early Perpendicular style and consists of chancel, nave, south aisle, small north transept, south porch and an embattled western tower containing five bells: the chancel and north wall are said to be the oldest part of the church and date from around the end of the 12th century: the chancel-screen is a fine specimen of ancient carving, and 29 of the bench ends are ornamented with various devices: the pulpit is also richly carved: : the font, of granite elvan, dates from the 14th century, and the basin bears the following inscription: "Ecce karissimi de deo. vero baptizabuntur spiritu sancto", the east window of the south aisle is a memorial to members of the L'Erchdekne family and there is another to Lieut. Teignmouth Melvill, who perished, together with Lieut. Coghill, at the Tugela river, South Africa, while endeavouring to save the colours of the 24th Regiment, after the disaster at
Isandlwana, January 22, 1879: there are also monuments to William Sawle, of Newham, in this parish 1651; and to Vice-Admiral Sir Charles V. Penrose K.C.B. 1830: the east window in the south aisle was restored in 1867: in memory of William and Elizabeth Foster, of Lanwithin: there are sittings for 175 persons. The register dates from 1622.
This church is one of those gem's which never receive the attention they deserve. If you are in the neighbourhood then this church and the surrounding area are well worth a visit.